The United Kingdom left the EU on the 1st of February 2020. A transition period commenced at the same time, in accordance with the withdrawal agreement between the EU and the United Kingdom. During the transition period, the United Kingdom continues to form part of the single European market and relations with the EU continue as before. The transition period is set until the end of 2020 and may be extended until 2022.
STINT’s programmes do not focus on countries in the EU/EFTA. The United Kingdom will still be regarded as one of these countries for the duration of the transition period. Applications with British higher education institutions as main foreign partners are therefore formally invalid until further notice. In future calls for applications, STINT will specifically stipulate the conditions for collaborations with the United Kingdom.